About the LSLLN

The Lake Superior Living Labs Network has evolved out of a partnership between Lakehead University, the University of Minnesota-Duluth, Lake Superior College, Algoma University, and a number of non-profit organizations, businesses, First Nations and tribal governments across the region.


The two videos below describe the LSLLN’s work across the Lake Superior watershed.

The Future of Water in Duluth Panel – Alworth Center for the Study of Peace & Justice, College of St. Scholastica. 


Rachel Portinga presents an overview of LSLLN between minute 46:10 and 56:40.

Research Matters- Lakehead University


Dr. Charles Levkoe and Rachel Portinga share information about the LSLLN during the entire episode.

LSLLN Diagram showing locations of all four hubs along the Lake Sueprior shoreline, then five bubbles intersecting: Research, Action, Teaching, Governance and Just Sustainabilities in the center, and another set of three bubbles intersecting: climate and energy, water, land, and food, and individual and community wellbeing. Green arrows connect all of these sections
Front cover of the LSLLN brochure showing former logo and flowchart with three hubs and text "Identifying innovative solutions at the intersection of water, food, land, climate, energy, and individual and community well-being"
Second page of LSLLN brochure with all text describing the network and listing objectives.
Third page of LSLLN brochure with two images of people at farmer's markets with captions
Fourth page of the LSLLN brochure showing a photo of a person presenting to a small group inside a greenhouse
Fifth page of the LSLLN brochure listing partner organization logos and a call for new partners

LSLLN Partners

Interested in becoming a partner?  Email us – superiorlivinglabs at gmail.com

Houghton Hub Members

  • Gina Nicholas, Keweenaw Outdoor Recreation Coalition
  • Lloyd Wescoat, Lake Superior Stewardship Initiative
  • Rachel Pressley, Western Upper Peninsula Planning and Development Region
  • Emily Geiger, Western Upper Peninsula MiSTEM Network
  • Erika Vye, Great Lakes Research Center, Michigan Technological University 
  • Mark Rhodes, Michigan Technological University 
  • Alan Turnquist, Michigan Technological University

Thunder Bay Hub Members

  • Summer Stevenson, EarthCare Thunder Bay
  • Jacob Porter, EarthCare Thunder Bay
  • Erin Moir, EcoSuperior
  • Airin Stephens, Roots to Harvest
  • Erin Beagle, Roots to Harvest
  • Sarah Siska, Thunder Bay and Area Food Strategy
  • Charles Levkoe, Lakehead University
  • Lindsay Galway, Lakehead University
  • Rachel Portinga, Lakehead University
  • Ledah McKellar, Lakehead University
  • Leigh Potvin, Lakehead University
  • Keira Loukes, Lakehead University
  • Robert Stewart, Lakehead University
  • Aynsley Klassen, Lakehead University
  • Devon Lee, Lakehead University & Antiquary Folk School
  • Nathan Wilson, Lakehead University
  • Gavin Shields, Lakehead University & Portal North Inc.
  • Nicole Westlund Stewart, Lakehead University
  • Kristen Lowitt, Queens University

Sault Ste. Marie Hub

  • Don McGorman, Clean North
  • Colin Templeton, Food Bank Farm
  • David Thompson, Rural Agri-Innovation Network (RAIN)
  • Marissa Ditoro, People’s Garden, Algoma University
  • Laura Wyper, Algoma University
  • Nairne Cameron, Algoma University
  • Paulette Steeves, Algoma University
  • Ricardo VelascoGuachalla, Algoma University
  • Sean Meades, Algoma University & Northern Ontario Research, Development, Ideas, and Knowledge (NORDIK)

Duluth Hub

  • Tone Lanzillo, World Climate School
  • Duluth Folk School
  • Julia Allen, Lake Superior Sustainable Farming Assoc.
  • Randy Hanson, Lake Superior Sustainable Farming Assoc.
  • Ryan Ihrke, Western Lake Superior Sanitary District
  • David Abazs, Regional Sustainable Development Partnerships, U of MN
  • Kathryn Milun, University of Minnesota
  • Joseph Bauerkemper, University of Minnesota

LSLLN Steering Committee

Eight circles, each containing an image of eight steering committee members